Skip to Main Content
Upsher-Smith in 2024: Statement on What We’re Committed to, and Capable of, Doing in the New Year

Upsher-Smith and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) Announce Excellence in Innovation Award Recipients

Maple Grove, MN – February 6, 2024 – Upsher-Smith Laboratories, LLC (Upsher-Smith) and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) proudly announce the recipients of the 2023 NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award. This annual award, overseen by NASPA and sponsored by Upsher-Smith, acknowledges innovative pharmacists from across the nation for their outstanding contributions to the field of pharmacy.

The Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes qualified pharmacists who have demonstrated significant innovation in their practice, method, or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy. The award is presented by more than 40 participating state pharmacy associations throughout the year.

“Recognizing remarkable pharmacists who are driving innovation in patient care is one of our annual highlights at Upsher-Smith,” said Rich Fisher, President and COO of Upsher-Smith. “We take pride in spotlighting the many pharmacy innovators and their efforts to improve patient outcomes by advancing pharmacy practices in their communities.”

Krystalyn Weaver, PharmD, JD, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of NASPA added, “It is an honor to acknowledge these exemplary pharmacists, who have been selected for innovative contributions that have a positive impact on patient care and the pharmacy profession. We are grateful to our longstanding partner, Upsher-Smith, and participating state pharmacy associations for their continued support of NASPA’s Excellence in Innovation Award.”

The 2023 Excellence in Innovation Award recipients include:

Alabama: Lexi Watson, PharmD

Alaska: Theresa Castellanos, PharmD

Arizona: Jenny Bingham, PharmD, BCACP, FAzPA, FNAP

Arkansas: Megan G. Smith, PharmD

California: Shawn Smith, PharmD

Colorado: Holly Rabideau, PharmD, BCPS

Connecticut: Christopher Yuen, PharmD

Delaware: Pradeep Chilakapati, RPh

Florida: Soheyla Mahdavian, PharmD, BCGP

Georgia: Annette Duncan, PharmD

Hawaii: Crystal TK Tsuda, RPh, PharmD, BCACP, CPHQ

Illinois: Jill R. Woodward, PharmD

Indiana: Nathan Riecke, PharmD

Iowa: Ben Miskle, PharmD

Kansas: Jacob Hadley, PharmD

Kentucky: Easton Bryant, PharmD

Louisiana: Lishunda M. Franklin, PharmD

Maryland: Alison P. Duffy, PharmD, BCOP

Massachusetts: Denise Summers, PharmD

Michigan: The Collaboration to Harmonize Antimicrobial Registry Measures (CHARM)

Minnesota: Tiana Butler, PharmD

Mississippi: Meagan Brown, PharmD, BCACP

Missouri: Jordan M. Rowe, PharmD, BCACP, BC-ADM

Montana: Leanna Schwend, PharmD

Nebraska: Nicole D. White, PharmD, CDE

Nevada: C. Leiana Oswald, PharmD, BCGP

New Hampshire: Suzanne Stevens, PharmD, BCOP

New Mexico: Jeffrey Tyler Stewart, PharmD

North Carolina: Cornelius Toliver, PharmD

North Dakota: Elizabeth Skoy, PharmD

Ohio: Jacquelyn Kissel, PharmD, AAHIVP

Oklahoma: Troy Simons, PharmD

Oregon: Tara Pfund, PharmD

Rhode Island: Kelley Doherty Sanzen, PharmD, PAHM, CDOE

South Carolina: Brandi Johnson, PharmD

− Ted Lyons, PharmD
− Merica Lyons, PharmD

Texas: Jobby John, PharmD

Utah: Zachary Merrill, PharmD

Virginia: Lura Thompson, PharmD

Washington: Sirena Kalinski

West Virginia: Mary Beth Wade

Wisconsin: William Peppard, PharmD, BCPS, FCCM

Wyoming: David Ahlstrom, PharmD

To learn more about the exceptional work of NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award winners, visit

About Upsher-Smith

Upsher-Smith Laboratories, LLC is a trusted U.S. pharmaceutical company that strives to improve the health and lives of patients through an unwavering commitment to high-quality products and sustainable growth. The company brings generics and brands to a wide array of customers, always backed by its attentive level of service, strong industry relationships, and dedication to uninterrupted supply. For more information, visit

About the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations

The National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA), founded in 1927 as the National Council of State Pharmacy Association Executives, is dedicated to enhancing the success of state pharmacy associations in their efforts to advance the profession of pharmacy. NASPA’s membership is comprised of state pharmacy associations and over 80 other stakeholder organizations. NASPA promotes leadership, sharing, learning, and policy exchange among its members and pharmacy leaders nationwide. For more information, please visit the NASPA website


Join Our Team!

We’re hiring

Search Our Jobs